Meet DPS

Here to Serve

Public Safety officer on a bicycle

Officers in the Department of Public Safety (DPS) are commissioned as peace officers through the Secretary of Justice. They regularly attend training and are certified in first aid, automated external defibrillators and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

DPS officers work closely with local, state and federal law enforcement agencies and attend meetings with their counterparts from the Lexington police department, the Fayette County sheriff’s office, Kentucky State Police and the University of Kentucky Police Department regarding common problems and criminal activity in the area.

Public Safety: (859) 233-8118

McClure, Joseph
Director of Public Safety & Chief of Police
jmcclure@transy.edu

Addison, Ed
Dispatcher
naddison@transy.edu

Campbell, Terrance
Peace Officer
tcampbell@transy.edu

Fields, Michael
Part-Time Peace Officer
mfields@transy.edu

Ford, Darrius
Peace Officer
dford@transy.edu

Gambrel, Roy
Lieutenant, Peace Officer
rgambrel@transy.edu

Gay, Rudon
Peace Officer
rgay@transy.edu

Gowdy, Robert
Captain, Peace Officer
rgowdy@transy.edu

Lamb, Randall
Administrative Services Supervisor
rlamb@transy.edu

Magnifico, Anthony
Part-time Peace Officer
amagnifico@transy.edu

Mahan, Charles
Dispatcher
cmahan@transy.edu

McKenney, Haven
Peace Officer/ Locksmith
hmckenney@transy.edu

Paynter, Sarah
Dispatcher
spaynter@transy.edu

Pfanstiel, Simon
Peace Officer
spfanstiel@transy.edu

Scott, Howard Wayne
Dispatcher
hscott@transy.edu

Shewmaker, David Hunter
Peace Officer
dshewmaker@transy.edu

Villalobos, Bernard
Peace Officer
bvillalobos@transy.edu

Young, Will
Peace Officer
wyoung@transy.edu