Get updates on Healthy at Transy, our COVID-19 action plan.

Meet DPS

Here to Serve

Public Safety officer on a bicycle

Officers in the Department of Public Safety (DPS) are commissioned as peace officers through the Secretary of Justice. They regularly attend training and are certified in first aid, automated external defibrillators and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

public safety administrative officer

DPS officers work closely with local, state and federal law enforcement agencies and attend meetings with their counterparts from the Lexington police department, the Fayette County sheriff’s office, Kentucky State Police and the University of Kentucky Police Department regarding common problems and criminal activity in the area.

Public Safety: (859) 233-8118

Gowdy, Robert
Captain
rgowdy@transy.edu

Cecil, Elizabeth
Peace Officer Lieutenant
ececil@transy.edu

Emery, Erik
Chief Administrative and Clery Compliance Officer
eemery@transy.edu

Gay, Rudon
Peace Officer
rgay@transy.edu

Jackson, Vicki
Peace Officer
vjackson@transy.edu

Lamb, Randall
Peace Officer Lieutenant
rlamb@transy.edu

Laramie, Scott
Dispatcher
slaramie@transy.edu

Mahan, Charles
Dispatcher
cmahan@transy.edu

McClure, Joseph
Director of Public Safety
jmcclure@transy.edu

Neidigh, Michael
Peace Officer
mneidigh@transy.edu

Owens, Crystal
Peace Officer
clowens@transy.edu

Paynter, Sarah
Dispatcher
spaynter@transy.edu

Privett, Roderick
Peace Officer
rprivett@transy.edu

Scott, Howard Wayne
Dispatcher
hscott@transy.edu

Shewmaker, David Hunter
Peace Officer
dshewmaker@transy.edu

Straw, Kevin
Peace officer
roney@transy.edu

Villalobos, Bernard
Peace Officer
bvillalobos@transy.edu