1780 – The Official Blog of Transylvania University

1780 | The Official Blog of Transylvania University

Transylvania University trustees welcome new members, board chair

headshots of two women

The Transylvania University Board of Trustees recently elected two new members, along with a slate of officers, and named William T. Young Jr. as a lifetime trustee.

Janet McGregor ’74 and Jennifer A. Moore ’95 will begin their four-year term with the board July 1, which is also when Chris Young becomes the new board chair.

“We are pleased to welcome two successful, dedicated alumnae to our Board of Trustees,” President Brien Lewis said. “I look forward to working with them — along with our new officers — as we continue to foster a culture of excellence for our current and future Pioneers.”

Janet McGregor

McGregor, whose career has included a variety of financial leadership roles with Lockheed Martin, has stayed connected to Transylvania as a Board of Regents member and 100 Doors to success mentor.

She and her classmates helped create a Class of 1974 endowed scholarship while serving as a member of her 50th reunion committee, and she hosted an alumni gathering in Washington, D.C., where she chairs the National Cathedral’s Finance Committee.

At Transylvania, McGregor majored in psychology and was a member of the Delta Delta Delta sorority, field hockey team and Pioneer Hall of Fame.

Her various roles have included serving as president and CEO of the Lockheed Martin Investment Management Company and COO and chief financial officer with the National Association of Broadcasters.

McGregor, who earned an MBA from American University, lives in McLean, Virginia.

Jennifer Moore

A prominent attorney and community leader, Moore recently funded a $1.25 million gift to create a full-ride Transylvania scholarship beginning next year.

“My hope is that a scholarship at this level will open the world of a liberal arts higher education to others and have a positive impact on Transylvania’s ability to recruit the best and brightest students from all over our country and especially right here in Kentucky, ultimately serving to enhance the school’s academic reputation and inspiring other alumni to contribute in ways that are meaningful to them,” she said.

Moore earned a B.A. from Transylvania in political science and a J.D. from the University of Kentucky. Additionally, she served a federal court clerkship with the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. 

She went on to found the Moore Law Group based in Louisville, and as a trial lawyer she’s been holding major corporations accountable for harmful products. She also created Emerge Kentucky, a nonprofit training women to run for elected office.

Other board updates

Chris Young will become the new chair after serving on the board since 2010. His numerous other roles have included serving as director of the William T. Young Foundation, general manager of Overbrook Farm and president of Bluegrass Angels. He is a graduate of Duke University and the son of William T. Young Jr.

Chris Young (l) and Buddy Cowgill at the May board meeting

Chris Young replaces Buddy Cowgill ʼ65, who was honored when trustees named May 24, 2024, as the Norwood “Buddy” Cowgill Jr. Day of Appreciation.

Also at the May meeting, officer positions were filled by Randy Cooper ’77, vice chair; Betsy Bulleit ’76, secretary; and Luther Deaton, treasurer. Additionally, Donna Hall was named honorary trustee.

William T. Young received a lifetime trustee honor.