Get updates on Healthy at Transy, our COVID-19 action plan.

1780 – The Official Blog of Transylvania University

Transylvania graduate named Outstanding Young Lawyer for the Kentucky Bar Association

Angela Logan EdwardsLEXINGTON, Ky.—Angela Logan Edwards, a 1991 graduate of Transylvania University and a partner in the Woodward, Hobson & Fulton, LLP law firm, has been named the 2009 Outstanding Young Lawyer for the Kentucky Bar Association.

The award, in recognition of Edwards’ civic activities, legal accomplishments and community involvement, will be presented at the KBA’s annual convention next week in Covington. The award is designed for Kentucky lawyers 40 and younger, or lawyers who have practiced law for 10 years or less.

Edwards received her J.D. from the University of Kentucky and has been with Woodward, Hobson & Fulton’s Louisville office since 1996. She practices in the areas of commercial and ERISA litigation. She counsels clients with business disputes and represents employee benefit plans, claims administrators and employers with benefits issues. She is the chair of the firm’s Business Litigation Practice Group, serves on the Diversity Committee of the Louisville Bar Association and on the firm’s Diversity Council. She began her career as a law clerk for the Honorable Jennifer B. Coffman, United States District Court judge for the Eastern and Western Districts of Kentucky.  

In 2006, Edwards received a Distinguished Service Award from Transylvania for her outstanding service to the University and she was elected to Transylvania’s Board of Trustees the same year. A member and former president of the Alumni Executive Board, Edwards has been an active member of the Transylvania Alumni Louisville Chapter. Each year, she assists with the University’s fundraising efforts and is a former member of the Pioneer Alumni Recruitment Team. The Alumni Association presented her a Certificate of Appreciation in 2001.

Edwards in the third Transylvania graduate to be named Kentucky’s Outstanding Young Lawyer in recent years; Jennifer Moore was selected in 2005 and Mindy Barfield in 2002.