2018 Juried Student Art Exhibition

May 4-18, 2018

Students from all academic disciplines submit work for this buoyant, year-end celebration of creativity. The gallery will be bursting with fresh artworks produced this academic year, representing a wide variety of media. A favorite tradition for the juried show is that students are recognized for creating work in “Best Of” categories. Also, the Dean’s Purchase Award and several individual prizes are awarded to outstanding artist/scholars on opening night.

Special Events and Hours
Opening Reception | Friday, May 4, 5-7 p.m. (Prizes and awards presented at 6 p.m.)
Lexington Gallery Hop | Friday, May 18, 5-8 p.


“Best In Category” Awards

Best in Painting, Sarah Schaaf
Best in Ceramic, Josh Porter
Best in Digital Work (Still), Madison Townsend
Best in Digital Work (Video), Timothy Baker
Best in Sculpture, Jesse Dees
Best Works on Paper, Sonora Schuck
Best in a Variety of Media, Annelisa Hermosilla

The Dean’s Purchase Awards 
The Dean’s Purchase Award, initiated in 2001, by Dr. William Pollard, then Vice President and Dean of the College, recognizes superior student artists by creating a permanent collection of student art for Transylvania University. Dr. Laura Bryan, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the University, continues this tradition.

Fuzzy Landscape, oil on canvas by by Cabby Brown
La Marchesa, ceramic bust by Sonora Schuck
Hauntings, mixed media sculpture by Zachary Hall

The Nana Lampton Prize
Samara Lyon won The Nana Lampton Prize, given to a junior or senior for creative vision, strong work ethic and natural leadership. The award is named in honor of Nana Lampton, who is a visual artist, poet, philanthropist and business leader.

Abbott Art Scholarship
Awarded to Sonora Schuck for demonstrating studio and scholarly excellence. The scholarship was established in memory of Mildred and Harold Abbott, both patrons and practitioners in the visual and performing arts.