Get updates on Healthy at Transy, our COVID-19 action plan.

1780 – The Official Blog of Transylvania University

Transy sports awards set for Sunday, May 19 at Clive M. Beck Center

The Rafys

Transylvania University’s Athletics Department will celebrate its annual end-of-year banquet – The Rafys – this Sunday, May 19 at the Clive M. Beck Center at 6 p.m.

The awards ceremony will celebrate the successes and achievements of more than 400 Transylvania student-athletes from 27 varsity teams. The Rafys recognize student-athletes, coaches, and their teams for achievements in the classroom, the community, as well as on their respective fields of play.

The event culminates the 2018-2019 athletic season which witnessed eight different Pioneer programs qualify for the NCAA Tournament.

Listed below are the nominees for this year’s awards.

Rookie of the Year

  • Taylor Allen, Track and Field
  • Porsche Robinson, Women’s Tennis
  • Annie Stauffer, Women’s Soccer

Rookie of the Year

  • Jacob Burnam, Men’s Track and Field
  • Arjun Gupta, Men’s Tennis
  • Bryce Lowe, Men’s Lacrosse

Senior Leadership Award

  • Rebecca Facktor, Women’ Track and Field
  • Celia Kline, Women’s Basketball
  • Emma Oliver, Women’s Lacrosse

Senior Leadership Award

  • Logan Fogle, Men’s Lacrosse
  • Jonathan Rase, Men’s Soccer
  • Bo Schuh, Men’s Basketball

Pioneer Athlete of the Year

  • Ally Benz, Field Hockey
  • Abby Blackburn, Eventing
  • Shelby Boyle, Women’s Basketball
  • Brittany Mumford, Softball

Pioneer Athlete of the Year

  • Hudson Chastain, Baseball
  • Graham Smith, Track and Field
  • Trenton Sneed, Men’s Lacrosse
  • TJ Toivonen, Men’s Lacrosse

Pioneer Team of the Year

  • Women’s Basketball
  • Men’s Lacrosse
  • Men’s Soccer

Pioneer Coaching Staff of the Year

  • Women’s Basketball
  • Women’s Golf 
  • Men’s Lacrosse
  • Softball

For more on Transylvania Athletics and upcoming events, follow @TransySports on Twitter