1780 – The Official Blog of Transylvania University

1780 | The Official Blog of Transylvania University

Students, campus groups celebrated at first Broadway Awards

A group photo of the Broadway Award winners.

Arriving on the red carpet and stopping for photos along the way, members of Transylvania’s student organizations and campus community stepped out for the first Broadway Awards on Wednesday night. Organized and presented by the Campus and Community Engagement team, 32 awardees were recognized from more than 139 nominees for their work in making the Transylvania campus more engaged and inclusive. 

Awards were presented in three overall categories — intramurals, fraternity and sorority life and leadership. Nominations were shared with a review committee of staff and faculty, including Sarah Coen, Helen Bischoff, Kerri Hauman, Krissalyn Love and Ryan Benjamin. 

Four awards were presented in the intramurals category: 

Intramurals Athlete of the YearAaron Biddle 
Intramurals Most Improved AthleteSydney Sayasane 
Intramural Team of the YearThe Hi-Phis (Phi Mu)
Intramural Supporter of the YearPhi Mu

Seven awards were presented by the Interfraternity Council and the Panhellenic Council in the fraternity and sorority life category:

Panhellenic SpiritTaylor Lynn Collins (Alpha Omicron Pi)
Panhellenic ScholarLangley Sebastian (Chi Omega)
Panhellenic ServiceElizabeth Sweat (Phi Mu)
Panhellenic Member of the YearSavannah Kinster (Alpha Omicron Pi)
Interfraternity SpiritOli Gonzalez (Phi Kappa Tau)
Interfraternity ScholarThomas Pearson (Phi Kappa Tau)
Interfraternity Members of the Year Blake Savage (Delta Sigma Phi)
Harrison Carlson-Bratton (Kappa Alpha Order)

The remaining awards were presented to individuals and student organizations for their efforts across campus: 

Unsung HeroCaroline Hughes 
Rising Leaders Kate Polson
Emma Swallows 
Student Engagement AwardCaroline Shutt 
Outstanding Achievement AwardRiley Walker 
Commitment to Justice AwardsYsa Leon
Em Spencer 
Collaboration AwardConservation Action Committee
Outstanding Education AwardSAB’s Moments in Black History – Music
Membership Development AwardAsian Student Alliance
Outstanding Organizations of the YearAsian Student Alliance
Conservation Action Committee
Delta Delta Delta
Pi Kappa Alpha
Outstanding AdvisorMegan Moloney 
Event of the YearRally for Trans Rights
Philanthropy Event of the YearDelta Sigma Phi – Sigatoni’s
New Organization of the YearMental Matters
Leaders in ActionStudent Activities Board
Spirit of TransylvaniaStudent Activities Board