1780 – The Official Blog of Transylvania University

1780 | The Official Blog of Transylvania University

Transylvania to celebrate Alumni Weekend from April 26-28

campus blossoms

Transylvania University alumni are coming together April 26-28 for a weekend of fun — both on campus and out in the Lexington community.

This year’s Alumni Weekend features new events like attending May term classes and exploring horse farms, along with traditional favorites such as class reunions and lunch in the Great Hall.

The program kicks off that Friday morning as alumni head back to class with professors including Ellen Furlong ’03 (Fido on the Couch), Jamie Day (Measuring the Universe) and Kenny Moorman ’90 (Game Design).

“One of the things we hear over and over from alumni is how much they enjoyed forming relationships with their professors and how fun May term was,” said Natasa Pajic Mongiardo ’96. “This is a way to connect them back to those great memories.”

Other highlights of the weekend include visits to Spendthrift and Three Chimneys thoroughbred farms, a tour of the James E. Pepper Distillery, Coffeehouse with Faculty Authors, Young alumni Happy Hour, fraternity and sorority open house and Keeneland Day at the Races.

Alumni Weekend is also a chance to hang out with two popular professors retiring at the end of the school year. “We are excited to celebrate the retirements of Veronica Dean-Thacker and Ben Hawkins at the Saturday Reunion Reception in the William T. Young Campus Center and hope other faculty will also take the opportunity to visit with their former students,” Mongiardo said.

Additionally on Saturday, a Celebration Convocation will recognize alumni for their achievements and service. This year’s honorees include Morrison Medallion winner Jan Allinder Anestis ’67 and Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipient Brittany Horsley Lauder ’14. Those recognized for distinguished achievement are Danielle Tharp Clore ’94, Elizabeth “Lisbon” Davis Hardy ’79, Amit B. Patel ’99, Mary Rankin ’74 and Erwin Roberts ’94. And this year’s Distinguished Service Awards go to Liz Phearson Fulkerson ’84, Ashley Willoughby King ’09, Dexter Meyer III ’69, Larry W. Moore ’74 and Shannan Stamper ’94.

Check out the schedule of events and register.

Those arriving to town early may want to check out a TOPs (Transy’s Outstanding Pioneers) Alumni Panel on Thursday, April 25, at 6:30 p.m. in Carrick Theater. Sponsored by the Center for Academic and Professional Enrichment, the event features panelists Mariju Bofill ’99, a foreign service officer with the U.S. Department of State; Les Johnson ’84, a space propulsion technologist for NASA and author; Blake Judd ’04, a director, producer and writer; and Elizabeth Harvey Matson ’94, an intelligence analyst for the FBI.