1780 – The Official Blog of Transylvania University

1780 | The Official Blog of Transylvania University

Senior Awards recognize achievements of Class of 2019

Transylvania Class of 2019
Class of 2019 on the steps of the Beck Center
The Class of 2019 takes a class photo on Saturday, May 25 in front of the Beck Center.

Members of the Class of 2019 gathered with their family, friends, fellow students and faculty in Carrick Theater for the last time as a group for their Senior Awards ceremony on Friday, May 24.

The awards recognize achievement in academics, leadership and campus involvement.

The 2019 Senior Award winners are:

  • J. Richard Thompson Leadership Award  – Jocelyn Lucero
  • Alpha Lambda Delta Graduate Fellowship – Daniel Cooper
  • Student Government Association President’s Award – Daniel Cooper
  • Omicron Delta Kappa Leader of the Year Award – Daniel Cooper
  • Ruchman Music Award – Megan Schandel
  • Transylvania Choir Outstanding Senior Award – Rachel Stone
  • Transylvania University Education Award – Angie Hilen & Carrie Mahagan
  • Transylvania University Education and Social Change Award – Raaziq El-Amin
  • Ruchman English Award – Emily Chapman
  • The Helen Deiss Irvin Prize – Emily Chapman
  • Ruchman Foreign Language Award (German) – Robert Prince
  • Ruchman Foreign Language Award (French) – Sarah Teasdale
  • Ruchman Foreign Language Award (Spanish) – Gabriella Prevost
  • Joseph Buchanan Award – Trevor Kassis & Michael Kern
  • Ruchman Mathematics Award – Jason Pastoor
  • Whitehouse Premedical Award – Daniel Cooper
  • Dr. Loman Trover Health Sciences Award – Emma Oliver
  • Ruchman Biology Award – Mary Wallace
  • American Institute of Chemists Award – Christine Phipps & Collan Henderson
  • Monroe Moosnick Chemistry Award – Jordan Dunaway
  • The James E. Miller Computer Science Award – Megan Schandel
  • Major of the Year in Exercise Science – Meg Liter
  • Excellence in Accounting Award – Ally Brutscher
  • Distinguished Student in Accounting Award – CJ Burton & Webb VanMeter
  • The Sociology Scholar-Citizen Award – Raaziq El-Amin
  • Omicron Delta Epsilon “Rara Avis” Economics Award – Jack Berger
  • Outstanding Business Administration Award – Joe Shermock
  • Ruchman History Award – Bailey M. Browning
  • Ruchman Political Science Award – Shelby Lewis
  • Holleian Society Inductees – Rylan Banks, Jewell Boyd, Bailey M. Browning, Kearstin Bruther, Emily Chapman, Daniel Cooper, Rachel Farmer, Kathryn Gillespie, Will Grasch, Emily Hayes, Michael Kern, Reagan Linton, Aaron Martin, Daniel McCarthy, Christina Meeks, Jennifer Pinto, Gabriella Prevost,Tristan Reynolds, Megan Schandel, Sonora Schuck, Marcus Sirianno, Isaac Taylor, Mary Wallace, Olivia Whaley
  • Holleian Society Awards
    • Creative Work Outside of Class – Jewell Boyd
    • Contributions to the Intellectual and Cultural Life of the University – Tristan  Reynolds
  • Senior Class Award – Bailey M. Browning
  • Senior Commencement Speaker Recognition – Presli Neal