A-Z Index  |  Site Map  

News & Events

A-Z Index  |  Site Map   icons Printer-friendly version Email this page

News Releases

Transylvania speech and debate team wins numerous awards at Kentucky Forensics Association State Championship

LEXINGTON, Ky.—Transylvania’s speech and debate team walked away from the recent Kentucky Forensics Association State Championship with numerous awards. The team was named state small school champion in individual events and placed third overall in the combined speech and debate division and second among small schools in debate.

In the debate competition, Bryan Dickman, of Williamsburg, Ky., and Ian Smith, of Lawrenceburg, Ky., were quarter-finalists and Smith also placed first in the open speaker category. In the novice speaker category, Taylor Deaton, of Richmond, Ky., placed second, Rebecca Radcliffe, of Lawrenceburg, Ky., placed fourth and Weylin Gilbert, of Russellville, Ky., placed eighth.

The results for the individual events were:

Radio broadcasting: Deaton placed first and top novice, Smith placed second and Radcliffe placed fourth.

Editorial impromptu: Radcliffe was top novice and Smith placed third.

Impromptu speaking: Deaton placed fourth and was top novice and Dickman placed sixth.

Extemporaneous speaking: Dickman placed sixth, Taylor placed seventh and was top novice, Radcliffe placed eighth and Smith placed ninth.

Finally, Deaton placed sixth and was top novice in the quadrathon, the top performers in the individual part of the tournament who were entered in four or more individual events.

The team is coached by writing, rhetoric and communication instructor Gary Deaton and director of debate Clint Jones ’05. Raven Mineo ’11 and Leigh Ann Jordan ‘94 serve as alumni coaches.


Back to News Releases page

Contact Us | Maps & Directions | Feedback | © 2003-2014 Transylvania University. All rights reserved.

Transylvania does not base employment or academic decisions on a person’s age, race, color, gender, disability or any other criteria prohibited by law. We are committed to providing equal opportunity in employment and education for all.