Meet DPS

Here to Serve

Public Safety officer on a bicycle

Officers in the Department of Public Safety (DPS) are commissioned as peace officers through the Secretary of Justice. They regularly attend training and are certified in first aid, automated external defibrillators and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Public safety officer in office

DPS officers work closely with local, state and federal law enforcement agencies and attend meetings with their counterparts from the Lexington police department, the Fayette County sheriff's office, Kentucky State Police and the University of Kentucky Police Department regarding common problems and criminal activity in the area.

Public Safety
(859) 233-8118

Addison, Ed
Security Guard
naddison@transy.edu

Cecil, Elizabeth
Full-Time Peace Officer
ececil@transy.edu

Cecil, Nolan
Part-Time Peace Officer
ncecil@transy.edu

Day, David
Part Time Peace Officer
dday@transy.edu

Emery, Erik
Administrative Assistant & Clery Compliance Officer Department of Public Safety
eemery@transy.edu

Gowdy, Robert
Director of Public Safety
rgowdy@transy.edu

Harney, Franklin
Part Time Peace Officer
fharney@transy.edu

Lamb, Randall
Peace Officer Lieutenant
rlamb@transy.edu

McClure, Joseph
Peace Officer Lieutenant
jmcclure@transy.edu

Miller, Brian
Peace Officer -Lieutenant
bmiller@transy.edu

Oney, Robert
Full-Time Dispatcher
roney@transy.edu

Privett, Roderick
Full-Time Peace Officer
rprivett@transy.edu

Scott, Howard Wayne
Full-Time Dispatcher
hscott@transy.edu

Shewmaker, David Hunter
Part-Time Peace Officer/Dispatcher
dshewmaker@transy.edu

Wright, Wayne
Part-Time Peace Officer
wwright@transy.edu

Villalobos, Bernard
Peace Officer
bvillalobos@transy.edu